Tag Archives: Owatonna

Packers Shoot for History Tonight!

1 Mar

Screen shot 2013-03-01 at 12.54.49 PM

The Austin Packer Boys Basketball team travels to Owatonna tonight with a lot to accomplish, including a chance to make history on several fronts:

  • The 2012-13 Packers are currently tied with the 1980-81 Packers for longest boys basketball winning streak in school history, at 24 games. A win tonight, and these Packers hold the record by themselves.
  • With a win tonight, the Packers would claim the conference crown by at least four games. which would match the margin for the 2009-2010 Winona Winhawks, the last team to go undefeated in the Big 9. The 2008-2009 Mankato West Scarlets also went 18-0 in the conference, and won by five games over Austin. An Albert Lea win tonight over Rochester John Marshall (combined with an Austin win), would stretch the Packers’ margin to five games.
  • No Big Nine team has gone undefeated in the regular season since at least 2005-1006. Both the ’08-’09 Scarlets and the ’09-’10 Winhawks lost non-conference match-ups, while this year’s Packers are 7-0.
  • The Packers are looking for their first season sweep of Owatonna since at least 2004-2005. From that year through 2010-11, Owatonna won 12 of 14 games. A win tonight would give the Packers three of the last four.

Most importantly, the Packers are preparing for tournament play, and this is their last tune-up before they open at home next Wednesday night at 7 p.m.

If you have information on the last Big Nine team to go undefeated throughout the regular season (including non-conference), please leave that information in the comments below. Also, if you know when Austin last swept Owatonna, that would be helpful too.

Please join us in Owatonna tonight! The opening tip is at 7:30. Then plan to root the Packers on through the playoffs!


Big Nine Champs!

3 Mar

The Austin Packers boys basketball team came into Friday night’s game against Owatonna with two scenarios:

  • If they won, they would claim sole possession of the Big Nine title, or
  • If they lost, they would likely share the title with both Owatonna and Mankato East.

With their 61-52 win over the Huskies, the Packers clinched the conference crown outright for the first time since 1988 (they had shared with Rochester Mayo in 1999), and with Mankato East’s win over Rochester Century the Huskies fell to third. Here are the final standings:

Tom Aase led the Packers in scoring with 18 points, while Joe Aase added 15, Zach Wessels 12, Goliath Oboyo 8, Collin Weisert 5, Nate Schwab 2 and Bret Lukes 1. See the stories in the Austin Daily Herald, Austin Post-Bulletin and Owatonna People’s Press.

Here are the game highlights:

The Packers open section 1AAA play-offs Wednesday at home, likely against Faribault. Game time is 7 p.m.

Packers Start Fast, Hit Wall against Owatonna

25 Feb

After grabbing an early lead, the Packers ran into turnover problems and lost by a lopsided score at Owatonna on Tuesday.

Joe Aase had 16 points, Zach Wessels 11, Tom Aase 6, Zach Fadness 3 and Colin Weisert 3 for the Packers, while the Huskies used points off turnovers and hot three-point shooting to put up 71 points. Here’s the Austin Daily Herald recap, along with the Post-Bulletin article, along with the shortest highlight reel of the season:

The Packers take the home floor tomorrow for Senior Night aiming to guarantee themselves a winning record for the season with a win over Albert Lea.

Rally falls short against Owatonna

22 Jan

The Austin boys fell behind early against visiting Owatonna on Friday night and made a couple of runs to get within two points, but the Owatonna runs were a little bigger and lasted longer, leading to a 53-41 win.

Joe Aase had 14 points for the Packers, Zach Wessels 12, Matt Duren 10, Jay Ettinger 3 and Tom Aase 2.

Here are the video highlights:

See the Austin Daily Herald recap.

%d bloggers like this: